Home About Us News Privacy Policy Contact Us

640x135 Email Header

County Age Group Boys

Representative Cricket at all age levels is extremely important for the development of talented cricketers. It provides the opportunity for players to be challenged and have their skills tested to a greater extent than in normal competition. Many players (men and women) who progress along the pathway to first class and international standard have participated in representative cricket at various age grade levels.

Kent has age grade sides for boys at Under 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 17. These play in ECB competitions and/or festivals in Taunton. These are Kent teams and boys wear the same kit as the professional players – with “Performance Squad” under the Kent logo.

Some players progress to Kent 2nd XI and some go on to achieve the final prize of the Kent pathway; a contract to play professional cricket. No longer a boy; a man and a professional, with all the responsibility that brings. Most players will be the best amateurs in Kent’s leagues – or elsewhere as their futures take them. All will be able to say, “I was in one of Kent’s Performance Squads” – and say it with pride.

ADAM

Trialists are drawn from Areas following assessment in coaching or games. At some levels recommendations are accepted from scouts. All these boys are invited to attend autumn trials, following which winter squads attend net coaching after Christmas, leading to  selection of the squad for the summer programme.

Coaching takes place at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence; The County Ground Beckenham and Sutton Valence School.

Some attend specialist sessions (eg for fast bowlers) where they spend several sessions under the guidance of top coaches. In recent years these have included Geraint Jones, James Tredwell, Simon Cook, Vince Wells, Min Patel, James Kirtley and Martin Saggers.

In addition to some friendlies, teams play in some special events:

  • Under 11 the programme centres on development, ending with a 5 day Taunton festival
  • Under 12 the programme centres on development, ending with a 3 day Taunton festival
  • Under 13 the programme centres on development, ending with a 5 day Taunton festival
  • Under 14 ECB U14 Inter-county competition, ending with a 5 day Taunton festival
  • Under 15 ECB U15 Inter-county competition
  • Under 17 ECB U17 Inter-county competitions (2 day and one day formats)

Each team has at least one coach, responsible for individual and team development and mentoring. A manager is responsible for administration and for ensuring the welfare and protection of players.

Kent Cricket sets high standards for itself and seeks to achieve them. In turn, we expect our young cricketers and their parents/guardians to meet those standards. It is important that we all know what we are delivering and what is expected of players. To clarify this, parents/guardians and players are required to sign up to a series of Charters.

Above all we want boys to enjoy their cricket with Kent, while knowing that they are in an open-air classroom and are expected to do all they can to learn.

We explain what our standards and expectation are in the two documents:

The Player's Charter

The Parent/Guardian's Charter

All this is overseen by the High Performance Team comprising David Turner (Chairman), Mark Dekker (Community Cricket Officer - Boys) and Andy Griffiths (Director of Community Cricket).

Those identified as having the most potential are given the opportunity to develop by being placed on the programme of Kent Cricket Academy:

Kent Cricket Academy Identifying and Developing Talented Players

Kent Cricket Academy Selection Process 2017

To view our policies, please see Our Rules - What We Expect:

Presentation Document

Safeguarding Booklet Season

Sun Care Policy

Changing Room Policy

Photographic Policy

Transport Policy

 

Kent Cricket - County Age Group Coaches and Managers:

Under 11 Coach Craig Riley criley1@northbournepark.com
Under 11 Manager / Ass. Coach Mike Green michael.green49@btinternet.com
Under 12 Coach Damon Trigger damontrigger@hotmail.com
Under 12 Manager Paul Putland p.putland@btinternet.com
Under 13 Coach Mark Dekker mark.dekker.kent@ecb.co.uk 
Under 14 Coach David Joseph david.joseph.Kent@ecb.co.uk 
Under 14 Manager  Neil Cox neil_s_cox@hotmail.com
Under 15 Coach Neil Taylor neil.taylor740@ntlworld.com
Under 17 Coach Jason Weaver jason.weaver.kent@ecb.co.uk 
Under 17 Manager Dan Patching dan.patching.kent@ecb.co.uk


 

 

Download Free Designs http://bigtheme.net/ Free Websites Templates